Conservative leaders urge Oklahoma politicians to protect taxpayers

September 28, 2017 Dear Governor and State Lawmakers, We are a coalition of conservative citizens, many of us serving in leadership of state or local organizations, who write to urge you to address the need for more consolidation and other efficiencies in all areas of state government and to resist raising taxes on your constituents. Many Oklahoma families and businesses are struggling and have been forced to reduce their own spending. Indeed, Oklahomans lost more than $13 billion in taxable income and reduced purchases by $4.1 billion in one year alone when oil prices collapsed. And yet, Oklahoma’s total state government spending is at an all-time high. The state is now on track to spend more money next year—more than $17.9 billion—than at any time in our history. If you believe that certain state services are not adequately funded, we urge you to prioritize spending rather than raise taxes. “Limited government” and “lower taxes” have been winning campaign messages in Oklahoma over the last decade. Some candidates have even made written promises to oppose and vote against (or veto) “any and all efforts to increase taxes.” We encourage you to stay true to these principles and to oppose efforts to increase the burden of government on hard-working Oklahoma families. Sincerely, Jonathan Small Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs (OCPA) John Tidwell Americans for Prosperity-Oklahoma Grover Norquist Americans for Tax Reform Steve Curry Republican National Committeeman for Oklahoma Ronda Vuillemont-Smith Tulsa 9.12 Project Tom Newell Former chairman, General Government Oversight and Accountability Committee, Oklahoma House of Representatives Michael Bates Brandon Arnold National Taxpayers Union Jamison Faught Andrew Lopez Canadian County Republican Party Daniel Schneider American Conservative Union Charles W. Potts Oklahoma Republican Party executive committee member John Michener Oklahoma Conservative Political Action Committee Bunny Chambers Eagle Forum of Oklahoma Lisa B. Nelson American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC) Ashley N. Varner ALEC Action
Other signers will be added to the letter as the special legislative session continues.